withsoli.blogg.se

Onyx nails design
Onyx nails design








  1. ONYX NAILS DESIGN HOW TO
  2. ONYX NAILS DESIGN SKIN

There’s a coagulated texture accentuated by layered hues of deep, almost black red, a vivid sparkling red, and a translucent red which implies the flow of blood.

onyx nails design

In terms of product, I’d like to share my favorites:įirst, the Bloody Dracula nails, which, when held up to the light, actually emulate the look of dripping, oozing blood. I’m never there, because my products ship worldwide, so I’m never there to see it all come together. I actually went there and got to apply the nails on the person for the first time – it took my breath away to see the whole look together. That caught me a little off guard – I thought, so how are we going to do this? She had a very specific color scheme in mind. “I went to a SFX convention in LA a few months ago, and there was somebody there who needed a set for a hitchhiking ghost costume. While attending Monsterpalooza in California over the summer, du Preez found herself presented with a very specific, very unique collaboration opportunity.

ONYX NAILS DESIGN SKIN

Having worked with Netflix SKIN WARS body paint winner, Natalie Fletcher, du Preez’s roster of collaborators range from Drag Queens, to make-up artists, to fellow creatives gathering to share and master their skills. Like, someone requested a troll set and I thought, ‘Oh – blood and mud and dirt! Yes!’ These kinds of nails are just so much more fun than saying, ‘Let’s do a fairy nail with flowers,’ you know?’” I didn’t realize there was such a thing as special effects nails. I had to do a GAME OF THRONES set for a photoshoot – after that set, I was hooked. I connected with other special effects artists and started doing costume work and it was great. “Don’t get me wrong – I doubted my own sanity on a daily basis – but as it evolved, I realized there is actually a market for it. This approach certainly seems outside the box, but maybe not as much as one would first think. I have a couple of sets made from filigree metal – they’re super sharp.” In terms of a base – I have clear base nails, sometimes clay, or liquid plastic. I literally used finishing nails to make a set of nails. For example, I found finishing nails in the garage and asked my husband if he could cut 50 of them for me. Sometimes it’s definitely non-traditional products. I do use mixed media – I will use whatever it takes to make the nails.

ONYX NAILS DESIGN HOW TO

Which leads to the question – how are these nails even made? “It’s a crazy process sometimes – I have an idea in my head and have no idea how to get there. I’m exploring myself as much as anything else.” I would never say that I’m an artistic person – I think it caught me by surprise more than anybody, the process and thinking outside the box. “I wish I could say I have some really cool backstory, it’s just never something I got into. It’s only taken her three years to develop this level of her newfound craft with no former experience. It was the nail art part that really got me hooked, instantly.” “Three years ago, I decided I wanted to take a nail course, then realized that I don’t actually like doing nails on people – it’s not my jam. Hailing from South Africa and now residing in Canada, du Preez is a trained esthetician and made her way to crafting these truly groundbreaking designs rather organically.

onyx nails design onyx nails design

The thought, time, craftsmanship, collaboration, imagination and ability to think outside the box and conjure the bloodiest, goriest, most visceral and tangible special effects remains the major factor that sets the classics apart from the rest.Įnter, Jolandi du Preez, owner and creator behind the special effects nail company, Onyx Nails Design. There’s a level of depth, contour, and most importantly, feel, to practical effects that CGI will never replace. Then, I remember watching the behind-the-scenes making of said video, and not only falling in love with it in a whole new way, but consciously marking the point at which I began developing a life-long love-affair with BTS and SFX work. I remember watching the video for THRILLER when I was super young, and being in equal measure in complete awe, and terrified.










Onyx nails design